Barely Missing Everything

Dude, I found your father! And what the fuck I was reading were the last words of
dudes who've been executed by the state. It's all online. The state tracks
everything. E-V-E-R-Y-T-H-I-N-G. What the dudes did. When they're scheduled to
die.

Barely Missing Everything

Barely Missing Everything

“There are moments when a story shakes you...Barely Missing Everything is one of those stories, and Mendez, a gifted storyteller with a distinct voice, is sure to bring a quake to the literary landscape.” —Jason Reynolds, New York Times bestselling author of Long Way Down In the tradition of Jason Reynolds and Matt de la Peña, this heartbreaking, no-holds-barred debut novel told from three points of view explores how difficult it is to make it in life when you—your life, brown lives—don’t matter. Juan has plans. He’s going to get out of El Paso, Texas, on a basketball scholarship and make something of himself—or at least find something better than his mom Fabi’s cruddy apartment, her string of loser boyfriends, and a dead dad. Basketball is going to be his ticket out, his ticket up. He just needs to make it happen. His best friend JD has plans, too. He’s going to be a filmmaker one day, like Quentin Tarantino or Guillermo del Toro (NOT Steven Spielberg). He’s got a camera and he’s got passion—what else could he need? Fabi doesn’t have a plan anymore. When you get pregnant at sixteen and have been stuck bartending to make ends meet for the past seventeen years, you realize plans don’t always pan out, and that there are some things you just can’t plan for… Like Juan’s run-in with the police, like a sprained ankle, and a tanking math grade that will likely ruin his chance at a scholarship. Like JD causing the implosion of his family. Like letters from a man named Mando on death row. Like finding out this man could be the father your mother said was dead. Soon Juan and JD are embarking on a Thelma and Louise­—like road trip to visit Mando. Juan will finally meet his dad, JD has a perfect subject for his documentary, and Fabi is desperate to stop them. But, as we already know, there are some things you just can’t plan for…

More Books:

Barely Missing Everything
Language: en
Pages: 320
Authors: Matt Mendez
Categories: Young Adult Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-03-03 - Publisher: Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books

“There are moments when a story shakes you...Barely Missing Everything is one of those stories, and Mendez, a gifted storyteller with a distinct voice, is sure to bring a quake to the literary landscape.” —Jason Reynolds, New York Times bestselling author of Long Way Down In the tradition of Jason
A Place for Everything
Language: en
Pages: 32
Authors: Sean Covey
Categories: Juvenile Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-12-17 - Publisher: Simon Spotlight

Discover that organization is the fastest way to fun with the 7 Oaks gang in this Level 2 Ready-to-Read edition of the third book in the 7 Habits of Happy Kids series from Sean Covey and Stacy Curtis. Jumper loves playing basketball, but when he wears the wrong shoes and
Everything, Everything But You
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Xie Man
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-04-10 - Publisher: Funstory

Xu thought that as long as she persisted in love and marriage, there would always be a day when things became dark and bright. She had given up studying abroad, had cut off her career, had given up her dreams, just to be his close ones. He said she was
Everything, Everything
Language: en
Pages: 240
Authors: Nicola Yoon
Categories: Young Adult Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-09-01 - Publisher: Delacorte Press

Risk everything . . . for love with this #1 New York Times bestseller. What if you couldn’t touch anything in the outside world? Never breathe in the fresh air, feel the sun warm your face . . . or kiss the boy next door? In Everything, Everything, Maddy is
Catalog of Copyright Entries
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Library of Congress. Copyright Office
Categories: Copyright
Type: BOOK - Published: 1971 - Publisher:

Books about Catalog of Copyright Entries

Popular All Time

The Third Pole
Ben Hogan’s Five Lessons: The Modern Fundamentals of Golf
The Club
The Mamba Mentality
Relentless
The Mindful Athlete
Golf is Not a Game of Perfect
The Captain & Me
Bigger Leaner Stronger
Born to Run
The New Encyclopedia of Modern Bodybuilding
100 Deadly Skills: COMBAT EDITION
The Boys in the Boat
Twelve Mighty Orphans
2020 NFHS Track and Field and Cross Country Rules Book
Long Range Shooting Handbook
Legacy
The Inner Game of Tennis