Hakluyt s Promise

Hakluyt: The Spirit of Our Race,'' Canadian Magazine 66 (1916): 491–495; ''The
Tercentenary of Richard Hakluyt,'' Geographical Journal 48 (1916); Foster
Watson's contribution to the English Pioneers of Progress: Empire Builders series
, ...

Hakluyt s Promise

Hakluyt s Promise

Richard Hakluyt the younger, a contemporary of William Shakespeare, advocated the creation of English colonies in the New World at a time when the advantages of this idea were far from self-evident. This book describes in detail the life and times of Hakluyt, a trained minister who became an editor of travel accounts. Hakluyt’s Promise demonstrates his prominent role in the establishment of English America as well as his interests in English opportunities in the East Indies. The volume presents nearly 50 illustrations—many unpublished since the sixteenth century—and offers a fresh view of Hakluyt’s milieu and the central concerns of the Elizabethan age. Though he never traveled farther than Paris, young Hakluyt spent much of the 1580s recording information about the western hemisphere and became an international authority on overseas exploration. The book traces his rise to prominence as a source of information and inspiration for England’s policy makers, including the queen, and his advocacy for colonies in Roanoke and Jamestown. Hakluyt’s thought was shaped by debates that stretched across Europe, and his interests ranged just as widely, encompassing such topics as peaceful coexistence with Native Americans, the New World as a Protestant Holy Land, and in, his later life, trade with the Spice Islands.

More Books:

Hakluyt's Promise
Language: en
Pages: 400
Authors: Peter C. Mancall
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2008-10-01 - Publisher: Yale University Press

Richard Hakluyt the younger, a contemporary of William Shakespeare, advocated the creation of English colonies in the New World at a time when the advantages of this idea were far from self-evident. This book describes in detail the life and times of Hakluyt, a trained minister who became an editor
Richard Hakluyt and Travel Writing in Early Modern Europe
Language: en
Pages: 404
Authors: Claire Jowitt
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-03-23 - Publisher: CRC Press

Richard Hakluyt and Travel Writing in Early Modern Europe is an interdisciplinary collection of 24 essays which brings together leading international scholarship on Hakluyt and his work. Best known as editor of The Principal Navigations (1589; expanded 1598-1600), Hakluyt was a key figure in promoting English colonial and commercial expansion
Marooned
Language: en
Pages: 512
Authors: Joseph Kelly
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-10-30 - Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing USA

For readers of Nathaniel Philbrick's Mayflower, a groundbreaking history that makes the case for replacing Plymouth Rock with Jamestown as America's founding myth. We all know the great American origin story: It begins with an exodus. Fleeing religious persecution, the hardworking, pious Pilgrims thrived in the wilds of New England,
New Worlds Reflected
Language: en
Pages: 262
Authors: Chloë Houston
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2010 - Publisher: Ashgate Publishing, Ltd.

Recent years have seen an explosion of interest in early modern globalization, travel and travel literature, whilst utopian literature has proved to be a continuing source of fascination for students of the intellectual and literary history of the early modern period. Drawing on this growth of interest, this volume brings
Harvard University Bulletin
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Justin Winsor
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 1884 - Publisher:

Books about Harvard University Bulletin

Popular All Time

Attack on Titan Volume 26
Attack on Titan Volume 27
Attack on Titan Volume 28
Attack on Titan Volume 29
Am I Actually the Strongest? Volume 3
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: The Last Ronin #1
Attack on Titan Volume 30
Attack on Titan Volume 32
Parallel Paradise Vol. 4
Attack on Titan Volume 31
Fire Force Volume 21
Welcome to Succubus High! Vol. 2
Destiny Lovers Vol. 5
Future State: Dark Detective (2021-2021) #2
Avatar: The Last Airbender--The Promise Omnibus
The Strongest Sage with the Weakest Crest 03
Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba, Vol. 16
Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba, Vol. 1