Spill Simmer Falter Wither

Written with tremendous empathy and insight, in lyrical language that surprises and delights, this is an extraordinary and heartbreaking debut by a major new talent

Spill Simmer Falter Wither

Spill Simmer Falter Wither

SHORTLISTED FOR THE COSTA FIRST NOVEL AWARD 2015 LONGLISTED FOR THE GUARDIAN FIRST BOOK AWARD 2015 LONGLISTED FOR THE DESMOND ELLIOTT PRIZE 2016 WINNER OF THE SUNDAY INDEPENDENT NEWCOMER OF THE YEAR, IRISH BOOK AWARDS 2015 WINNER OF THE GEOFFREY FABER MEMORIAL PRIZE FOR FICTION You find me on a Tuesday, on my Tuesday trip to town. A note sellotaped to the inside of the jumble-shop window: COMPASSIONATE & TOLERANT OWNER. A PERSON WITHOUT OTHER PETS & WITHOUT CHILDREN UNDER FOUR. A misfit man finds a misfit dog. Ray, aged fifty-seven, ‘too old for starting over, too young for giving up’, and One Eye, a vicious little bugger, smaller than expected, a good ratter. Both are accustomed to being alone, unloved, outcast – but they quickly find in each other a strange companionship of sorts. As spring turns to summer, their relationship grows and intensifies, until a savage act forces them to abandon the precarious life they’d established, and take to the road. Spill Simmer Falter Wither is a wholly different kind of love story: a devastating portrait of loneliness, loss and friendship, and of the scars that are more than skin-deep. Written with tremendous empathy and insight, in lyrical language that surprises and delights, this is an extraordinary and heartbreaking debut by a major new talent

More Books:

Spill Simmer Falter Wither
Language: en
Pages: 288
Authors: Sara Baume
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-10-01 - Publisher: Random House

SHORTLISTED FOR THE COSTA FIRST NOVEL AWARD 2015 LONGLISTED FOR THE GUARDIAN FIRST BOOK AWARD 2015 LONGLISTED FOR THE DESMOND ELLIOTT PRIZE 2016 WINNER OF THE SUNDAY INDEPENDENT NEWCOMER OF THE YEAR, IRISH BOOK AWARDS 2015 WINNER OF THE GEOFFREY FABER MEMORIAL PRIZE FOR FICTION You find me on a
A Line Made By Walking
Language: en
Pages: 320
Authors: Sara Baume
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-02-16 - Publisher: Random House

SHORTLISTED FOR THE GOLDSMITHS PRIZE 2017 ‘When I finished Sara Baume’s new novel I immediately felt sad that I could not send it in the post to the late John Berger. He, too, would have loved it and found great joy in its honesty, its agility, its beauty, its invention.
Seven Steeples
Language: en
Pages: 192
Authors: Sara Baume
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2022-04-26 - Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

For fans of Jenny Offill and Rachel Cusk: A stunning, powerful new novel about a couple that pushes against traditional expectations, moving with their dogs to the Irish countryside where they embed themselves in nature and learns truths about love, success versus failure, and what it means to restart our
The Oxford Handbook of Modern Irish Fiction
Language: en
Pages: 704
Authors: Liam Harte
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-10-15 - Publisher: Oxford University Press, USA

Presents essays by thirty-five leading scholars of Irish fiction that provide authoritative assessments of the breadth and achievement of Irish novelists and short story writers.
Narratology Beyond the Human
Language: en
Pages: 400
Authors: David Herman
Categories: Literary Criticism
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018 - Publisher: Oxford University Press

To what extent, and in what manner, do storytelling practices accommodate nonhuman subjects and their modalities of experience, and how can contemporary narrative study shed light on interspecies interactions and entanglements? In Narratology beyond the Human, David Herman addresses these questions through a cross-disciplinary approach to post-Darwinian narratives concerned with

Popular All Time

Math Without Numbers
A Hunter-Gatherer's Guide to the 21st Century
Breath
Sapiens
Fuzz: When Nature Breaks the Law
AMNH Birds of North America
Saving Us
Braiding Sweetgrass
American Buffalo
What Is Relativity?
The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks
The Physicist's World
Absolute Zero and the Conquest of Cold
Brief Answers to the Big Questions
Under a White Sky
What the Eyes Don't See
The Demon-Haunted World
The Big, Bad Book of Botany