The Boat Girls

It is 1943, and three very different girls are longing to do their bit for the war effort.

The Boat Girls

The Boat Girls

is 1943, and three very different girls are longing to do their bit for the war effort. Frances - her life of seeming privilege has been a lonely one. Brave and strong, stifled by her traditional upbringing, she falls for a most unsuitable man Prudence - timid and conventional, her horizons have never strayed beyond her job as a bank clerk in Croydon until the war brings her new experiences Rosalind - a beautiful, flame-haired actress who catches the eye of Frances's stuffy elder brother, the heir to an ancestral mansion. The three become friends when they join the band of women working the canal boats, delivering goods and doing a man's job while the men are away fighting. A tough, unglamorous task - but one which brings them all unexpected rewards.

More Books:

The Boat Girls
Language: en
Pages: 431
Authors: Margaret Mayhew
Categories: Canal-boats
Type: BOOK - Published: 2007 - Publisher: Bantam Press

is 1943, and three very different girls are longing to do their bit for the war effort. Frances - her life of seeming privilege has been a lonely one. Brave and strong, stifled by her traditional upbringing, she falls for a most unsuitable man Prudence - timid and conventional, her
The Boat Girls
Language: en
Pages: 432
Authors: Margaret Mayhew
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2010-01-26 - Publisher: Random House

Perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Donna Douglas, a saga full of the romance and drama of World War II from bestselling author Margaret Mayhew. READERS ARE LOVING THE BOAT GIRLS! "I started reading this book last night and I absolutely devoured it, to the point I didn't go
The Girl on the Boat (Annotated)
Language: en
Pages: 152
Authors: P. G. Wodehouse
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-04-05 - Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform

The Girl on the Boat is a novel by P. G. Wodehouse. It first appeared in 1921 as a serial in the Woman's Home Companion in the United States under the title Three Men and a Maid. It was first published as a book in the United States on April
The Boat Girl
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Cullinan
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 1994-01-01 - Publisher:

Books about The Boat Girl
The Swiss Market Girls Or The Boat-song of Lake Leman
Language: en
Pages: 5
Authors: William Ball
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 1840 - Publisher:

Books about The Swiss Market Girls Or The Boat-song of Lake Leman

Popular All Time

The Nag Hammadi Scriptures
Crazy Faith
The Holy Word for Morning Revival - Crystallization-study of Joshua, Judges, Ruth, Volume 1
The Holy Word for Morning Revival - Crystallization-study of Joshua, Judges, Ruth, Volume 2
Jesus Calling, with Scripture references
Bread for the Journey
The Catholic Faith Handbook for Youth, Third Edition
Battle Cry
Forgiving What You Can't Forget
REVELATION AND THE OLD TESTAMENT
Get Out of Your Head
The Love Dare
Winning the War in Your Mind
Paul
Catholic New American Bible Revised Edition
Live No Lies
La Palabra Santa para el Avivamiento Matutino - Estudios de cristalización de Josué, Jueces, Rut, Tomo 2
Living Faith October, November, December 2021