The Misadventures of Awkward Black Girl

An introvert braves the cybersex, the pitfalls of eating out alone, the difficulties of weight gain, and other hurdles faced by shy people living in a world that urges us to be cool as "J" humorously recounts her life in all its awkward ...

The Misadventures of Awkward Black Girl

The Misadventures of Awkward Black Girl

"A collection of humorous essays on what it's like to be unabashedly awkward in a world that regards introverts as hapless misfits, and Black as cool ... [from] Issa Rae, the creator of the Shorty Award-winning ... series The Misadventures of Awkward Black Girl"--

More Books:

The Misadventures of Awkward Black Girl
Language: en
Pages: 224
Authors: Issa Rae
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-07-12 - Publisher: Simon and Schuster

"A collection of humorous essays on what it's like to be unabashedly awkward in a world that regards introverts as hapless misfits, and Black as cool ... [from] Issa Rae, the creator of the Shorty Award-winning ... series The Misadventures of Awkward Black Girl"--
Don't Knock the Hustle
Language: en
Pages: 248
Authors: Craig S. Watkins
Categories: Business & Economics
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019 - Publisher:

How millennials are changing our ideas about work, the "gig economy", social mobility, opportunity and technology Millennials are coming of age at a time when work is temporary, underpaid, incommensurate with their education, or downright unsatisfying. Despite these challenges, media scholar S. Craig Watkins argues that this moment of precarity
How to Watch Television, Second Edition
Language: en
Pages: 432
Authors: Ethan Thompson, Jason Mittell
Categories: Performing Arts
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-03-31 - Publisher: NYU Press

A new edition that brings the ways we watch and think about television up to the present We all have opinions about the television shows we watch, but television criticism is about much more than simply evaluating the merits of a particular show and deeming it “good” or “bad.” Rather,
Girl Gurl Grrrl
Language: en
Pages: 256
Authors: Kenya Hunt
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-12-08 - Publisher: HarperCollins

“One of the year’s must-reads.” –ELLE “[A] provocative, heart-breaking, and frequently hilarious collection.” –GLAMOUR “Essential, vital, and urgent.” –HARPER’S BAZAAR In the vein of Roxane Gay’s Bad Feminist and Issa Rae’s The Misadventures of Awkward Black Girl, but wholly its own, a provocative, humorous, and, at times, heartbreaking collection of
Black Female Sexualities
Language: en
Pages: 242
Authors: Trimiko Melancon, Joanne M. Braxton
Categories: Social Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-01-26 - Publisher: Rutgers University Press

Western culture has long regarded black female sexuality with a strange mix of fascination and condemnation, associating it with everything from desirability, hypersexuality, and liberation to vulgarity, recklessness, and disease. Yet even as their bodies and sexualities have been the subject of countless public discourses, black women’s voices have been

Popular All Time

Cooking for Two: Your Dog & You!
The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up
The Home Edit
White Dwarf 461
Perfect Puppy In 7 Days
Lucky Dog Lessons
Marijuana Horticulture
The Complete Guide to Golden Retrievers: Finding, Raising, Training, and Loving Your Golden Retriever Puppy
Pure Soapmaking
Following Atticus
How to Behave So Your Dog Behaves, Revised and Updated Second Edition
Warhammer 40000: Kill Team Enhanced Edition
Woodworking Wisdom & Know-How
All New Square Foot Gardening, 3rd Edition, Fully Updated
Your Golden Retriever Puppy Month by Month
The Ultimate Service Dog Training Manual
Codex: Chaos Space Marines Enhanced Edition
Sergeant Rex