The Unopened Stocking

THE UNOPENED STOCKING hangs by the chimney, while a sleepy Dad tries to sneak away from his family's traditional gift-unwrapping ritual for a rapturous, holiday nap!

The Unopened Stocking

The Unopened Stocking

THE UNOPENED STOCKING hangs by the chimney, while a sleepy Dad tries to sneak away from his family's traditional gift-unwrapping ritual for a rapturous, holiday nap! That is, until his two young boys intervene and teach their father that his stocking has been "open" all along. With snappy text and amusing illustrations, THE UNOPENED STOCKING delivers a touching message about how easy it is to lose sight of our blessings, especially during these economic times where our basic values are under continual assault. A book to give to yourself, or to a Dad you have known and loved, STOCKING will become a favorite holiday classic to be read for years to come by readers of all ages.

The Devil s Stocking

The first guest to arrive next day found him lying dead in the cottage with the unopened bottles of liquor for the party ... from The Man with the Golden Arm to The Devil's Stocking, and that is an exceedingly rare literary achievement.

The Devil s Stocking

The Devil s Stocking

The Devil’s Stocking is the story of Ruby Calhoun, a boxer accused of murder in a shadowy world of low-purse fighters, cops, con artists, and bar girls. Chronicling a battle for truth and human dignity which gives way to a larger story of life and death decisions, literary grandmaster Nelson Algren’s last novel is a fitting capstone to a long and brilliant career.

Suzan Lori Parks

Lincoln does not realize that the unopened nylon stocking with its implications ofintimacy without reserve is the objective correlative ofBooth's need to accept his mother's integrity as sacred, even in the face of his positive ...

Suzan Lori Parks

Suzan Lori Parks

The first African American woman to win the Pulitzer Prize for drama, Suzan-Lori Parks has received international recognition for her provocative and influential works. Her plays capture the nightmares of African Americans endangered by a white establishment determined to erase their history and eradicate their dreams. A dozen essays address Parks’s plays, screenplays and novel. Additionally, this book includes two original interviews (one with Parks and another with her long-time director Liz Diamond) and a production chronology of her plays.

Silent Tears

Jonathan was looking not in the least interested in finding out the contents of his stocking and made no attempt to ... I tried to encourage him to open them but he was not interested, his unopened stocking and presents was put aside ...

Silent Tears

Silent Tears


The Swag Is in the Socks

But it's worked so far , and that's probably why I put the package of unopened socks into my bookbag with other stuff I'll need for the dance : deodorant , Tic Tacs , Carmex , cocoa butter . “ Ju's here ; you ready ?

The Swag Is in the Socks

The Swag Is in the Socks

Xavier Moon is stepping out of the shadows when his great-uncle gives him some outlandish socks and some even stranger requests. A story about heart, confidence, and standing on your own two feet that is perfect for fans of The Season of Styx Malone and The Parker Inheritance. "An excellent read-alike to Jacqueline Woodson’s Harbor Me or Janae Marks’ From the Desk of Zoe Washington.” –Booklist, Starred Review "A warm but authentic picture of a middle schooler figuring out who he is and who he wants to be." –The Bulletin Xavier Moon is not one to steal the show. He’s perfectly content to play video games and sit at his bedroom window watching the neighborhood talk outside. But for Xavier’s twelfth birthday, he receives a pair of funky socks and a challenge from his great-uncle, Frankie Bell, saying it’s time to swag out and speak up. First on the list: get into the legendary Scepter League. Xavier’s grandfather, great-uncle, and father were all invited to join the elite boys’ after-school club that admits only the most suave and confident young men. Xavier has never had the courage to apply before, but his wild socks are getting him some big attention, so maybe it’s time to come out of the shadows and follow in his family's footsteps. Or maybe Xavier will march down a new path altogether.

The Materiality of Love

Just subtly. softly gently like the stroke of a page turn/arm shift (Bartlett 1994,79). That we make love. * Was it you who told me that when your grandmother died you found packets and packets of unopened stockings around the house?

The Materiality of Love

The Materiality of Love

Drawing on love studies and research in material cultures, this book seeks to re-examine love through materiality studies, especially their recent incarnations, new materialism and object-oriented philosophy, to spark a debate on the relationship between love, objects and forms of materializing affection. It focuses on love as a material form and traces connections between feelings and materiality, especially in relation to the changing notion of the material as marked by digital culture, as well as the developments in understanding the nature of non-human affect. It provides insight into how materiality, in its broadest sense, impacts the understanding of the meanings and practices of love today and reversely, how love contributes to the production and transformation of the material world.

Drama Collection

TV skit 1 [Two small children, each in red pajamas and red stocking in hand, step into spots. ... places unopened bottle beneath stockings; takes each one out from carton and stuffs their stockings] Please note, Santa, that there is ...

Drama Collection

Drama Collection

Collection of plays that's great for High School Drama Clubs and class readings. Productions royalty free.

Green Stockings

She sees large blue envelope in which she has already placed two unopened letters. NOTE : The flap of this large envelope must be turned in. She quickly holds it up and slips the letter to SMITH inside and hides it between the ...

Green Stockings

Green Stockings

"Green Stockings" by A. E. W. Mason. Published by Good Press. Good Press publishes a wide range of titles that encompasses every genre. From well-known classics & literary fiction and non-fiction to forgotten−or yet undiscovered gems−of world literature, we issue the books that need to be read. Each Good Press edition has been meticulously edited and formatted to boost readability for all e-readers and devices. Our goal is to produce eBooks that are user-friendly and accessible to everyone in a high-quality digital format.

Silk Stockings and Socialism

She proceeded to send it up to Eddy on the fourth floor, as a reminder of what would happen to him if he did not come home immediately after work on Fridays “with his pay envelope unopened.” In other entries the paper reported that ...

Silk Stockings and Socialism

Silk Stockings and Socialism

The 1920s Jazz Age is remembered for flappers and speakeasies, not for the success of a declining labor movement. A more complex story was unfolding among the young women and men in the hosiery mills of Kensington, the working-class heart of Philadelphia. Their product was silk stockings, the iconic fashion item of the flapper culture then sweeping America and the world. Although the young people who flooded into this booming industry were avid participants in Jazz Age culture, they also embraced a surprising, rights-based labor movement, headed by the socialist-led American Federation of Full-Fashioned Hosiery Workers (AFFFHW). In this first history of this remarkable union, Sharon McConnell-Sidorick reveals how activists ingeniously fused youth culture and radical politics to build a subculture that included dances and parties as well as picket lines and sit-down strikes, while forging a vision for social change. In documenting AFFFHW members and the Kensington community, McConnell-Sidorick shows how labor federations like the Congress of Industrial Organizations and government programs like the New Deal did not spring from the heads of union leaders or policy experts but were instead nurtured by grassroots social movements across America.

Always in December

twenty years ago , of watching through the window as fluffy snowflakes fell onto an empty driveway outside her grandparents ' house , a full but unopened stocking lying next to her , listening to her grandmother stifling sobs from where ...

Always  in December

Always in December

“A poignant, heart-tugging, life-affirming story that will wrap around you like a hug during any season. Keep tissues nearby!”—Josie Silver, #1 New York Times bestselling author of One Day in December It started with a letter. It ended with a love story. Every December, Josie posts a letter from her home in London to the parents she lost on Christmas night many years ago. Each year, she writes the same three words: Missing you, always. But this year, her annual trip to the postbox is knocked off course by a bicycle collision with a handsome stranger--a stranger who will change the course of Josie's life. Josie always thought she was the only one who avoided the Christmas season, but this year, Max has his own reasons for doing the same—and coincidence leads them to spending the holiday together. Aglow with new love, Josie thinks this might be the start of something special. Only for Max to disappear without saying goodbye. Over the course of the next year, Max and Josie will find that fate continues to bring them together in places they'd never expect. New York City. Edinburgh. The quiet English countryside. And it turns out, Max had every reason to leave and every reason to stay. But what does fate hold for Josie and Max as Christmas approaches again? A devastating, romantic, life-affirming love story, Always, in December will stay with readers long after they've finished the last page.

More Books:

Unions and Economic Crisis
Language: en
Pages: 394
Authors: Peter Gourevitch, Andrew Martin, George Ross, Stephen Bornstein, Andrei Markovits, Christopher Allen
Categories: Business & Economics
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-04-06 - Publisher: Routledge

First published in 1984. This book represents a major study of union responses to the economic crisis of the 1970s and 1980s. Abjuring governmental or managerial outlooks, it argues that unions, as representatives of essential producer groups, would be central to the renegotiation of the economic world. The work also
What Do Unions Do?
Language: en
Pages: 660
Authors: Thomas S. Barrows
Categories: Business & Economics
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-09-08 - Publisher: Routledge

One of the best-known and most-quoted books ever written on labor unions is What Do Unions Do? by Richard Freeman and James Medoff. Published in 1984, the book proved to be a landmark because it provided the most comprehensive and statistically sophisticated empirical portrait of the economic and socio-political effects
Employment, Trade Unionism, and Class
Language: en
Pages: 224
Authors: Gregoris Ioannou
Categories: Business & Economics
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-07-16 - Publisher: Routledge

The economic crisis has brought about a watershed in institutional, political, and social relations, reshaping the labour market and the class structure in southern Europe. This book provides a critical comparative assessment of the dynamics of change in the employment field, focusing on Spain, Greece, and Cyprus. The book assesses
Trade Unions and the Economy
Language: en
Pages: 124
Authors: Brian Burkitt, David Bowers
Categories: Political Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 1979-11-08 - Publisher: Springer

Books about Trade Unions and the Economy
Globalisation, Trade and Unionisation in an Open Economy
Language: en
Pages: 18
Authors: Stephen B. Blumenfeld, Aaron Crawford, P. J. Walsh
Categories: Foreign trade and employment
Type: BOOK - Published: 2001 - Publisher:

Books about Globalisation, Trade and Unionisation in an Open Economy